Will County Gazette

Will County Gazette

Thursday, April 2, 2020

Illinois General Assembly: HB3037 Rule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee


By Local Labs News Service | Mar 30, 2019


The following action was taken on March 29 in the House on House bill HB3037 ("dhfs-hospice care payments"): "Rule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee."

The Rules Committees is a powerful standing committee in the House controlled by the majority. All legislation is assigned to the Rules Committee as a kind of legislative filter that sorts the more-than-6,000 bills introduced each year. The committee considers the legislation and often assigns it to other committees in order to be heard by other lawmakers. Sometimes, legislation dies in the Rules Committee if the committee decides it does not merit further consideration.

In the event that a committee fails to report to the House on a bill by applicable deadlines, it is automatically re-referred to the Rules Committee according to House rule 19(a). This is what happened with this bill.

The bill, as it was introduced in the House by Rep. Michael D. Unes (R-91) on Feb. 15, "amends the Medical Assistance Article of the Illinois Public Aid Code," according to the General Assembly website.

The following house representatives also co-sponsored the bill: Natalie A. Manley (D-98) and Margo McDermed (R-37).

The table below shows a history of actions for this bill through March 29.

March 29
Rule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
March 28
Added Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Margo McDermed
March 6
To Medicaid Subcommittee
March 5
Added Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
Feb. 26
Assigned to Human Services Committee
Feb. 15
Referred to Rules Committee
Feb. 15
First Reading
Feb. 15
Filed with the Clerk by Rep. Michael D. Unes

Want to get notified whenever we write about any of these organizations ?

Sign-up Next time we write about any of these organizations, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Illinois State House District 37Illinois State House District 91Illinois State House District 98

More News